Ville Valo Debuts Neon Noir In Houston

Ville Valo headlined at House of Blues in Houston on April 27th, 2023 with support from Kælan Mikla on the Neon Noir Tour

Ville Hermanni Valo is a Finnish singer-songwriter from Helsinki, Finland who started in 1991. He is best known for being the vocalist and front man for iconic gothic rock band HIM (His Infernal Majesty)! Valo began his career playing bass and drums in various bands.

In 2020, Valo embarked on a solo career under the moniker VV. During the pandemic he isolated himself and tracked everything for “Neon Noir“. He wrote and produced the album from scratch. All of the instrumentals were a product of his brilliant mind! Valo described his new record as playful with hope that it would evoke memories/ideas and used word play to create a juxtaposition of things that don’t seemingly go together. He wanted to forcingly marry them to create a concoction that’s never been heard before!

Valo stated:

Happy music makes me sad, and sad music makes me happy. I like to think of myself as something between Black Sabbath and Depeche Mode.

Ville Valo rotated back and forth between his solo project and songs from HIM during his setlist! He played classic hits such as “Wings of A Buttefly”, “Join Me In Death“, and “The Funeral of Hearts“. Valo concluded his set with massive hit “Saturnine Saturnalia” off his latest album “Neon Noir“.

Valo exclaimed:

I dedicate this last one to the one and only Jerry Springer!

VV = Ville Valo / HIM


  • Echolocate Your Love
  • Poison Girl (HIM song)
  • The Forever Lost
  • Right Here In My Arms (HIM song)
  • Loveletting
  • Buried Alive by Love (HIM song)
  • In Trenodia
  • Wings of A Butterfly (HIM song)
  • Heartful of Ghosts
  • Join Me In Death (HIM song)
  • Neon Noir
  • The Kiss of Dawn (HIM song)
  • Run Away From the Sun
  • When Love and Death Embrace (HIM song)


  • Soul on Fire (HIM song)
  • Salute the Sanguine
  • The Funeral of Hearts (HIM song)
  • Saturnine Saturnalia

Kælan Mikla is an Icelandic post-punk band originating from Reykjavik, Iceland and was formed in 2013. Their current lineup consists of vocalist Lauren Soffia, bassist Margret Rosa, and Solveig Matthildur on the synthesizer.


  • Kælan Mikla
  • Stormurinn
  • Kalt
  • Sirenur
  • Naeturblom
  • Andvaka
  • Solstodur
  • Hvitir Sandar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s